Ugrás a tartalomhoz Lépj a menübe
article preview

Temple of Kom Ombo

Temple of Kom Ombo 


12370944_1042428632484336_6142738214510576176_o.jpg

The Temple of Kom Ombo, built during the Ptolemaic dynasty, 180-47 BCE, is a double temple with courts, halls, sanctuaries and rooms duplicated for two sets of gods. Some additions to it were later made during the Roman period.

The Southern wing was built in dedication to the creator and fertility god, Sobek (crocodile).

The Northern wing was built to honor the falcon god Haroeris, also known as Horus the Elder.

This temple is unique in that on the structure is perfectly mirrored either side of the central axis. Much has been destroyed here because of proximity to the Nile, earthquakes and pilfering of stones. Some relief carvings were defaced by the Copts (400–800 CE) who used the temple as a church.


All the temples buildings in the southern part of the plateau were cleared of debris and restored by Jacques de Morgan in 1893. A few of the three-hundred crocodile mummies discovered in the vicinity are displayed in The Crocodile Museum. It is also notable that a relief carving located on the wall of a corridor that surrounds the temple, depicts ancient Egyptian surgical instruments (photo included).

 

 

12366467_1042428262484373_8678174042435047412_n.jpg

10382553_1042428169151049_53830397998025917_o.jpg

12373381_1042428482484351_6423154714545091404_n.jpg

12360088_1042428535817679_2107758986686270711_n.jpg

12365932_1042428519151014_8939777049637586492_o.jpg

12370737_1042428195817713_3848734283459118050_o.jpg

 

 

 

A mappában található képek előnézete Kom Ombo


 

Nyelvek

MagyarEnglish

Profilkép

látogatófigyelő


Levelezőlista


Archívum

Naptár
November / 2020

Elérhetőség

Statisztika

Online: 16
Összes: 154168
Hónap: 25941
Nap: 818